From left to right, front row: Supervisor David Scruggs (Beat 4), Supervisor Johnny Burnett (Beat 1), Supervisor Larry Dykes (Beat Two) From left to right, back row: Sheriff Joe Berlin, Chancery Clerk Bart Gavin, Supervisor Phil Dickerson (Beat 3), Supervisor Travares Comegys (Beat 5), Chief Financial Officer Charles Miller, Chief Administrative Officer & Board Attorney Danielle Ashley


The five-member board is the chief policy-making and administrative body or unit of the county. Each county is divided into five districts, commonly referred to as “beats”. Each district elects a supervisor who serves a four-year term.

Each supervisor handles some administrative duties in their district, together the members set policy. While each supervisor represents their district, all of the members are expected to look after the good of the county as a whole.

Road construction and maintenance are the responsibility of the Board. It is a very important job to be responsible for hundreds of miles of local highways and roads. The board can also set traffic regulations for the county roads. But the board must look after many things in addition to roads.
The power to tax and the power to appropriate and budget funds are the two most significant powers the board exercises.

Board meetings are held twice a month. Meetings are open to the public. The board serves a unique role in Mississippi counties — it is the one body which supervises almost everything that goes on in county government.

Board of Supervisors:

Beat 1- Johnny Burnett, President

Phone: 601-425-5370

Beat 2- T. Larry Dykes     

Phone: 601-729-8680

Beat 3- Phil Dickerson    

Phone: 601-428-4929

Beat 4- David Scruggs, Vice-President 

Phone: 601-477-8533

Beat 5- Travares K. Comegys 

Phone: 601-649-5275     



Support Staff:

Chief Administrative Officer & Board Attorney- Danielle Ashley

Phone: (601) 428-3139


Chief Financial Officer – Charles Miller

Phone: (601) 428-3139


Administrative Assistant- Brittany Welch

Phone: (601) 428-3139 Email:



Contacting the Board:

Physical address:
415 North 5th Ave
Laurel, MS 39440Hours:
8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Monday through Friday
Mailing address:
PO Box 1468
Laurel, MS 39441
Phone: 601-428-3139
Fax: 601-428-3602
Public Meetings Dates:
1st and 3rd Monday of every month at 9:30 am. Each meeting on even numbered months and all 3rd Monday meetings are held at the Laurel Courthouse. The 1st meeting on odd numbered months is held at the Ellisville Courthouse.